zine, [zeen] noun. 1. abbr. of fanzine; 2. any amateurly-published periodical. Oxford Reference

..

Friday, August 27, 2010

THE NY ART BOOK FAIR

PRINTED MATTER, INC. presents
THE NY ART BOOK FAIR
November 5–7 at MoMA PS1
Preview: Nov. 4, 6-9 p.m

image




"Smart, weird, engrossing, beautiful…"
–The New York Times, 2009

"Bigger and better then ever…time and a sturdy bag were essential accessories."
Artforum, 2009

Printed Matter presents the fifth annual NY Art Book Fair, November 5–7 at MoMA PS1, Long Island City, Queens. Free and open to the public, the Fair hosts over 200 international presses, booksellers, antiquarian dealers, artists and publishers from twenty countries, offering the best in contemporary art-book publishing.

Philip Aarons, Chairman of the Board for Printed Matter, said: "The NY Art Book Fair is the premiere venue to find what's new in art publishing. While it has spawned the next generation of independent art book fairs world-wide,  it remains the biggest, the best, and by far the most fun."

The NY Art Book Fair includes special project rooms, screenings, book signings, and performances, throughout the weekend. Other events include the third annual Contemporary Artists' Books Conference and The Classroom, a curated series of informal conversations between artists, together with readings, workshops and other artist-led events.

A list of exhibitors, event schedule, and more information is available at www.nyartbookfair.com.

HOURS AND LOCATION

Printed Matter, Inc. presents The NY Art Book Fair
November 5–7, 2010
Preview: November 4, 6-9 p.m.
MoMA PS1
22-25 Jackson Ave at the intersection of 46th Avenue
Long Island City, NY

Free and open to the public:
Thursday, November 4, 6-9 p.m.
Friday, November 5 and Saturday, November 6, 11 a.m.-7 p.m.
Sunday, November 7, 11 a.m.-5 p.m.

SPECIAL PROGRAMMING

Artist's Project
Leidy Churchman takes over the lobby with a large set of facsimile book paintings on wood. Drawing upon the stacks at the Museum of Modern Art Library Library with friend and librarian David Senior, Churchman traces a unique and fetching portrait of artists' publications from the last hundred years.

Special Project Rooms
Select exhibitors take over entire galleries: AA Bookstore with Bedford Books (London), Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI; New York), Fillip and A.AAAARG.ORG (Vancouver; Los Angeles), and Picturebox (Brooklyn). Andrew Roth (New York) exhibits a retrospective of PPP Publishing. Goteblüd (San Francisco) presents an exhibition of more than six hundred Riot Grrrl zines, with a working photocopy station. Werkplaats Typografie (Arnhem), the Dutch super-school, brings its entire student body to design, produce, and sell books while you watch.

The Classroom
The Classroom is a curated series of informal conversations between artists, workshops, readings and other artist-led events, with continuous enrollment for all fair-goers throughout the weekend. Participants include: Casco (Utrecht), f.ART magazine (New York), Golden Age (Chicago), J&L Books with Jason Fulford (Atlanta), Kodoji Press with Erik Steinbrecher (Zurich), Little Joe (London), The New Dreamz with Rose Luardo and Andrew Jeffrey Wright (Philadelphia), Onomatopee (Eindhoven), Roma Publications with Jo Baer (Amsterdam), Seems (San Francisco), Sumi Ink Club (Los Angeles), Swill Children (Brooklyn), Triple Canopy (New York and Los Angeles) and Alexis Zavialoff of Motto (Berlin), among others. The Classroom is organized by David Senior, the Museum of Modern Art Library.

Contemporary Artists' Books Conference
The  Contemporary Artists' Books Conference is a dynamic, two-day event focused on emerging practices and debates within art-book culture. This year's sessions address a wide array of subjects, including: experimental libraries, the so-called zine renaissance, fusion of art and design in typography, contemporary criticism, and new pedagogical approaches to the ever-expanding field of artists' books. The first day of the conference ends with a lively pecha kucha, a rapid-fire event in which invited speakers have just five minutes to comment on an artwork. Full-conference registrants receive a specially commissioned book by Emily Roysdon, an interdisciplinary artist and writer who examines the intersections of choreography and politics. Roysdon's book is a meditation on vintage photographs of the New York piers by queer photographer Alvin Baltrop.

HIGHLIGHTS

Featured Countries
This year, the NY Art Book Fair celebrates eighteen cutting-edge publishers from The Netherlands, including a project room by Kunstverein Amsterdam (Amsterdam) and Witte de With (Rotterdam), together with a variety of book launches and informal presentations in the Dutch Pavilion. Other countries represented include: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Norway, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and United States.

Antiquarian Dealers
Exhibitors present collections of rare Conceptual Art, Minimalism, Fluxus, and the avant-garde from Japan, Europe, and North America. Exhibitors include: John McWhinnie @ Glenn Horowitz (East Hampton), Harper's Books (East Hampton), Marcus Campbell (London), Steven Leiber (San Francisco), Sims Reed (London), Stefan Schuelke (Cologne) and others.

Artists & Activists
This diverse group of politically minded artists and collectives focus on the intersection of art and activism. Exhibitors include: Journal of Aesthetics and Protest (Los Angeles), GuerrillaGirlsBroadBand (New York), The Yes Men (New York), Bread and Puppet (Glover, Vermont), Center for Urban Pedagogy (Brooklyn), and Temporary Services (Chicago), among others.

Zines by Artists
A lively selection of international zinesters will represent independent publishing at its most innovative and affordable. Exhibitors include: The Holster (Brooklyn), Nieves (Zurich), Ooga Booga (Los Angeles), and ZINE'S MATE (Tokyo), among others. A special section of queer zines includes our favorites, from Original Plumbing (San Francisco) and Girls Like Us (Amsterdam) to PINUPS (Brooklyn).

EDITIONS

Printed Matter presents new limited editions by artists Rachel Harrison, Christian Holstad and Misaki Kawai, published on the occasion of the NY Art Book Fair 2010. Purchase of these editions supports the Fair, ensuring the event remains free and open to the public.

SUPPORT

The NY Art Book Fair Committee
Philip Aarons, AA Bronson, Skuta Helgason, Catherine Krudy, Carolina Nitsch, Richard Prince, Dieter von Graffenreid, John Waters, and Matthew Zucker

Press inquiries: Peter J. Russo, Coordinator, peter@printedmatter.org



Printed Matter Inc. is an independent 501(c)(3) non-profit organization founded in 1976 by artists and art workers with the mission to foster the appreciation, dissemination, and understanding of artists'' books and other artists'' publications.

Printed Matter, Inc. has received support, in part, through grants from the New York State Council on the Arts, the New York City, Department of Cultural Affairs, the Milton & Sally Avery Arts Foundation, The Cowles Charitable Trust, The Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation, the Schoenstadt Family Foundation, the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, the Trust for Mutual Understanding, the Gesso Foundation, the Foundation for Contemporary, Arts, the Morris B. and Edith S. Cartin Family Foundation Inc., the Mondriaan Foundation, and individuals worldwide.


Printed Matter, Inc.
195 Tenth Avenue
New York, NY 10011
www.printedmatter.org

T: 212 925 0325
F: 212 925 0464


Tuesday, August 24, 2010

HUGE ETSY Shipping Sale

via Anchor Collective by About Anchor Collective on 8/23/10
I apologize for not posting this sooner, but Anchor Collective is having a FREE U.S. shipping and 1/2 off international shipping sale! So be sure to check out our etsy site and spread the word!





ACAB #4

ACAB #4 Anti-Prison Zine from Guelph, Ontario

Here is the latest issue of ACAB News #4, the Guelph ABC periodical. It is a mostly local zine about repression and struggle against prison.

The Walking Dead



Stubby Buddy Vol. 3

Stubby Buddy Vol. 3


Stubby Buddy Vol. 3 [20 pages, digest size, $? stubbybuddyzine (at) gmail.com + www.facebook.com/StubbyBuddy ]

A zine dedicated to beer? Ding dong. This could be my new favourite zine! [Thanks to Sticky, who sent me a bunch of zines to review, and this was one of 'em.]

First up, a look at the increasingly idiotic Australian drinking laws, including the 'alcopop' tax which was intended to prevent under-age drinking, even though 80% of drinkers are men over the age of 25. Also the study (from the University of Adelaide) that recommends breath testing for drunk pedestrians (which would mean a woman who drank a bottle of wine at a restaurant over a two hour period would legally not be allowed to walk home, and neither would a man who consumed a six-pack of beer at a friend's bbq).

There's a newly introduced section devoted to sustainable drinking. Drink beer from cans, dude - they are the easiest to recycle. If you're gonna drink from bottles, brown bottles are better than green bottles (added metals that are harder and more expensive to remove) or clear bottles (which require extra processing to prevent your beer from becoming 'light-struck').

Some new beers are reviewed - Arctic Fox Brewing's American Pale Ale, Rekorderlig's Pear Cider (Yum! Gotta find me some of that!), Broo's Premium Lager and Holgate Brewhouse's Temptress Chocolate Porter (oh man, that one sounds good too!).

In another article, the history of Pilsner is revealed, followed by some Australian pilsner reviews. (At this point let me admit that with beer, I'm not fussy. I've never had a beer I didn't enjoy. ... Except for Tooheys New. Holy shit how the fuck do they fuck that shit up so bad?)

I really loved Barfly's Rant, a well-written and savage attack on knobs who order coffee at a pub, in this case during a rush on the bar. 'I've got thirty people to serve real drinks to, and this bitch wants me to make her and her wanker boyfriend a bloody coffee. I could happily sand her face off.' Best rant I've read in a long time.

Stubby Buddy rocks the kegs. Zine of the month, no doubt.

OFFICIAL SAFETY MANUAL

community accountability zine call for submissions


Sunday, August 22, 2010



GARAGE AND BEAT!, #3

As usual, P. Edwin Letcher articulately dishes the dirt on all music matters garage-oriented and beat-driven. ... $3.50 ppd, 8 ½ x 11, offset, 48 pgs.

FLASHPOINT, #3

This is the ultimate in printed knowledge acquisition... enthusiastically absorb it, kiddies! ... $3.00 ppd, 8 ½ x 11, offset newsprint, 44 pgs.


Organic t-shirts

Sent to you by Jack via Google Reader:

via Thumped - Home Publishing by meta on 8/17/10
anyone know where to get organic t-shirts wholesale in Ireland, for screen printing?

thanks

Things you can do from here:



jolie's zine review vlog for 8-18-10

jolie's zine review vlog for 8-18-10
i review zines by sage adderley of sweet candy distro
Find these zines and others at:

http://www.thingsyousaydistro.com

Into the Grid
Love Letters to Monsters #2
Miss Sequential #1
Miss Sequential #2

Evil Flower #1



NZINE - THE GREEN ISSUE



Black Light Diner distro, July 2010 update!

Hey everyone! After my recent move, Black Light Diner Comics and Zines is back in business, with new zines in stock! Check them out:




Psionic Plastic Joy 15 / Popular Reality Vol. 787 #2 split

via Blackguard on 8/20/10
[12 pages, tabloid size newsprint, $2.00 from Jason Rodgers, PO Box 8512, Albany NY 12208, USA ]
This is the first tabloid size newsprint zine I've ever seen (my scanner isn't big enough to get the whole PPJ cover, that's never happened before with a zine). I really got some curious and envious looks on the bus while reading this one.
First up, the PPJ side. Some great stuff here, like the anti-cellphone piece; 'Were Stan and Ollie Anarchists?'; and an interview with prankster/performance artist/activist Reverend Billy; plus some cool art (there's even a drawing by my old friend Marc Elburg from the Sick Puppy days! Great to see his stuff still out there.)
The Popular Reality side I didn't enjoy as much, although the Miracle Weight Reduction Secret ad was hilarious.
This is definitely worth checking out though. I'll be making sure to get future issues of this for sure.

Thursday, August 19, 2010

ABSENT CAUSE #4

Notes From The Underground (Excerpts)

 
 

Sent to you by Jack via Google Reader:

 
 


"Zines have always been more than just words or images on paper: they are the embodiment of an ethic of creativity that argues that anyone can be a creator. Professional newspapers, slick magazines, and academic journals, art galleries and television shows, regardless of their content, have a uniform message to the reader or viewer: you can't do this, you are not skilled enough , you do not have the resources, so just sit back, appreciate and consume the culture that professionals have made for you. A zine, with all its amateur, low-rent, scruffy seams showing, says something else to the reader: this is easy, you could probably create something just as good, now go out and Do-It-Yourself...

"The zine world, like all bohemia, is a ghetto. This sounds negative, but I don't mean it this way. For in this ghetto, we get to set the standards of what constitutes valid expression and creativity, instead of having these definitions determined by the academy, art world or the commercial marketplace of culture. We create an alternative culture. Self-publishing may have been democratized with the rise of the Internet, but within the zine scene Do-It-Yourself is more than just publishing practice, it is an entire way of thinking, being and creating; a shared ideal of what culture, community, and creativity could be."

– Stephen Duncombe


 
 

Things you can do from here:

 
 

Slab Comix Deluxe Edition



Blackguard #3 : The CRIME Issue - Update II

 
 

Sent to you by Jack via Google Reader:

 
 

via Blackguard on 8/18/10

 
Blackguard #3 is almost finished. I'm working every night on it now, finishing up the editing of the comix & zine reviews pages and Mailbag (oh yeah, and the Contents page - that is one tough motherfucking page to put together!), stuff like that. It sucks that a couple of comix artists I wanted to be in it won't be in it (eg. Hello, Mr Diana, where the fuck are you?), but on the other hand I got some killer awesome stuff for this issue so it's looking (to my completely unbiased eyes, of course) like the strongest issue yet.
I'll be getting it printed at the end of the month so contributor copies will be going out early September.
There's also some big zine events coming up soon - the Newcastle Zine Fair (part of TiNA) in early October and another one in Canberra late October that Sticky are handling the zine fair side of. (More details to follow on that one...)
One good thing about the final few weeks of putting a comix zine anthology together is that you have the perfect excuse to drink beer every night. Beer! Every night! It's "fuel for the fire" is what it is. It's an essential part of the process, you know.

 
 

Things you can do from here:

 
 

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Art Pages, Zambia (Africa)



Greetings! and call for entries!

 
 

Sent to you by Jack via Google Reader:

 
 

via Everyone's Blog Posts - We Make Zines by Meri Brin on 7/21/10

To introduce myself, I've always been a huge fan of zines, starting back in the 80's when I would mail order them. In the early 2000s I created a one-shot zine called Decease: Exploring the Culture of Death. It came out of an interest in the culture surrounding death and dying, similar territory to what he writer Mary Roach explored in Stiff.

Currently, I'm starting my next zine (one-shot, series? who knows!) about Collecting - what do you collect and why? Short submissions desired - 450 words or less. Visuals line drawings, illustrations, photographs are strongly encouraged as well. However they need to be B&W reproducible. Send submissions and questions to me at goodbyedoggy@gmail.com

Thanks!


 
 

Things you can do from here:

 
 

Uncomfortable



Sub Rosa 1



BLACK CARROT #15

Goblin Hall



Peaches & Bats and other literary zines



Radical Southern Zine Archive Project

The University of Alabama is looking for submissions/donations for a new archive
that will collect zines from Southern authors, and zines about Southern experience.
This collection will be housed within the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library and
once cataloged will be available for any scholar or zine enthusiast looking for
research opportunities or just a nice afternoon read. This project began as the
brainchild of our students and staff who have been creating zines, using zines in
the classroom, and have a general love of all things zine related.

The goal of the collection is to gather together the work of individuals who are
writing in the South, writing about the South and zinsters who are Southerners
living across the world. It is our belief and hope that the Radical Southern Zine
Archive will help bring together the work being produced everywhere about the South
and house it where all can enjoy it. We want all those Southern perspectives so send
us your zines and let’s get this process started. If anyone has any questions please
email us and we will get back to you ASAP.

The official opening of the Radical Southern Zine Archive will take place in
September, and will kick off a yearlong celebration of the zine and the zine

community. We look forward to hearing from each and every one of you.

Send your zines to:
Radical South Zine Archive
PO Box 869066
Tuscaloosa, AL 35486-0081
Email: radicalsouthzinearchive@gmail.com

Monday, August 16, 2010

Negative Capability



Prostitute Photo Zine



Are we rebels? Zine-making, dissent and identity

Collecting first kisses

Aloha Friday



Tokyo Art Book Fair 2010



G20 Zine: Call for submissions

G20 Zine: Call for submissions

The week of June 21st-27th was intense to say the least. We all have a lot of beautiful and terrible stories left knocking around our heads, so why not get them out? The plan is to create two zines; one for the beautifu stories and one for the less so, with all proceeds going to legal defense for G20 political prisoners.

You can use whatever form of writing you want for both or only one and pictures are welcome as well. Real names are welcome, but not necessary and the dead line for acceptance is August 25. Stories can be as short asyou'd like, but longer entries should aim to be about a page or two (if that's possible). Please send all inquires or entries to zineG20@gmail.com

----------------------

Support those incarcerated as a result of the G20

Over 1000 people were arrested before, during and after the G20 in an attempt to criminalize dissent. Many of these were on obviously trumped up charges. A number of people remain in prison in 'preventative detention' or have been arrested since the G20 summit.

Many of you already know Kelly Rose Pflug-Back, a friend, ally, poet and Guelph activist who was arrested and released on bail during the G20. After returning home to Peterborough, she turned herself in less than an hour after police gave a press conference stating that Kelly was wanted for six counts of mischief over $5000 in connection with damages related to the G20.

"Rather then allowing the trial to take place in the court, Toronto Police instead chose to have a trial-by-media sensationalizing her case through words such as "ringleader" and "most wanted". Previous arrested people have had publication bans on their bail hearings specifically to stop the media from ruining their chances at a fair trial. With her face splashed on the cover of every news station, she not only lost her chance at a fair trial in court, but is already convicted in the minds of the majority of those who follow the media as a criminal, radical and terrorist."

She has been in custody at Vanier since July 22nd.

Folks are being asked to write to her, and send pictures of the outside:

Kelly Rose Pflug-Back

Vanier Centre for Women

P.O. Box 1040

655 Martin Street

Milton, ON L9T 5E6

Most recently, a callout has been issued asking folks to take action, since she is being denied medical attention at Vanier. Callout is below. Please pass far and wide!!

MEDICAL CARE FOR KELLY

Political Prisoner Kelly Pflug Back, who suffers from Diabetes as well as other serious health problems, has been denied a doctor's visit without any valid reason. As we speak , Kellys health is deteriorating and she is getting no medical attention. We feel that EVERY person has a right to healthcare and feel that no one has the right to deny another person health care for punitive reasons.

SOS is calling on all people to call the superintendent at Vanier and demand that Kelly Pflug Back be allowed to see a doctor. HEALTH CARE IS A RIGHT FOR ALL AND NOT A TOOL FOR PUNISHMENT!!!!

Call Superintendent Donna Keating at (905) 876-8300 ext. 7316 and demand that Kelly be allowed to see a doctor.

Saturday, August 14, 2010

Guest Strip: MJ

 
 

Sent to you by Jack via Google Reader:

 
 

via The Daily Cross Hatch by smorean on 8/13/10

bikestzMJ is an Editorial Cartoonist for The National Free Press and has been spilling ink on drawing boards since 1979.  In 2008, his first comic strip called FIDDLESTIX© celebrated 20 years in print.

The new feature Welcome To The Jungle© was created to replace the black and white FIDDLESTIX© dailies that were pulled from publication, and moved to a Sunday-only full-color, multi-panel format.

MJ is a member of the Comic Art Professional Society, the International Cartoonist Conspiracy and The St. Louis Gateway Arts.

Check out MJ's work online through The National Free Press, The Nashville Free Press, Newsblaze Publications and Newropeans Magazine.  His work was also highlighted in Best Editorial Compilations.  Find more updates on his blog: http://blog.nationalfreepress.org/NFPCartoonist/

Welcome To The Jungle©

Sarah Morean


 
 

Things you can do from here:

 
 

Guest Strip: Donnie DeLay

 
 

Sent to you by Jack via Google Reader:

 
 

via The Daily Cross Hatch by smorean on 8/6/10

donniedelaytzDonnie DeLay makes historical non-fiction and autobiographical comics from his home in Florida.

He has contributed to such anthologies as The Gathering and Americans UK: Rocktronic, an anthology that adapted the songs of a NY-based band as mini-comics.

Currently, DeLay and his wife are working on a few short stories as well as their first long-form graphic novel Breakdown.  DeLay also plans to self-publish a 46-page book early next year called Hellhounds on my Trail and chronicles the legend of delta bluesman Robert Johnson.  Also look out for his 24-page mini-comic called Boston Strongboy which is slowly nearing completion.

Previews of these projects, as well as journal comics and curmudgeonly rants, can be seen on his blog: http://donaldelay.blogspot.com/

DCH1pg0001

Sarah Morean


 
 

Things you can do from here:

 
 

Search This Blog